Paris disappointment

I am in Paris, more for gastronomic than research purposes, though I have found some good books.

One disappointment, though. I went specially to the Gare de l’Est to see the painting of soldiers leaving for Verdun; (You get a glimpse of it in Richard Holmes’s Western Front videos).

It wasn’t there. They’re renovating the station, so maybe that’s the reason. Or maybe a reminder of the Great War is politically inconvenient these days. There was a memorial to the deportees of 1939-45 though.

And that is all I’m going to write on this French keyboard with several letters in the wrong places.

Update 2014:
I’ve taken another look at the Gare de L’Est. the renovations are now done, and the painting is spectacularly back in its rightful place.
gare

Post a Comment

