Rumours about The Hampshire

The latest issue of The St. Mihiel Trip-Wire, the always readable online magazine about the Great War, includes a major feature on H.M.S. Hampshire, the ship which sank when taking Kitchener on a secret mission to Russia.

H.M.S. hampshire

What really interests me is the abundant collection of rumours and conspiracy theories that followed Kitchener’s death.

  • The ship was sabotaged by Sinn Fein.
  • It was sunk by the British government to get rid of Kitchener.
  • It was destroyed by a cabal in Britain who wanted to stop Kitchener co-ordinating with the Russians, because they wanted to bring the War to a negotiated peace.
  • Kitchener had committed suicide in London (because of his homosexuality) and sinking the ship was a way of disposing of the body honourably.
  • The ship was sunk by British forces who thought it was German (and surviving seamen were shot when they reached the shore in the Orkneys.)

Which to believe? You decide.

2 Comments

  1. Posted February 7, 2014 at 8:16 pm | Permalink

    Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in
    two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

    • Posted February 8, 2014 at 10:54 pm | Permalink

      This is a post from my early blogging days, and I linked, alas, to a picture from a site that has now vanished.
      I don’t link to pics from other sites these days. I’ll see if I can find another snap of the Hampshire.


Post a Comment

