Oxford Literary Festival

The Oxford Literary Festival starts tomorrow, and includes several items of WW1 interest.

On Saturday 20 March, at 4 p.m., Juliet Nicholson will be discussing the aftermath of the War in a talk called The Great Silence.

On Tuesday 23rd, at 8 p.m. David Boyd Hancock will be talking about his book A Crisis of Brilliance: Five Young British Artists and the Great War. I ordered this book a while back, but when it arrived, my wife grabbed it and devoured it with great enthusiasm. I’ve not yet got round to reading it myself, but  can pass on Marion’s  strong recommendation.

The session I’m most looking forward to, though, is on Friday 26th, at 6 p.m. This is a discussion of The Poetry of War, between three  poets – David Harsent, Jon Stallworthy (who was the external examiner for my viva) and Tim Kendall of the always-excellent War Poetry blog.

One Comment

  1. Posted March 19, 2010 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    Do report back. I’ve only just heard about A Crisis of Brilliance myself but as I’m a fan of the art of all the five profiled, this is definitely a book I’m going to get my hands on too. Glad to hear the positive recommendation.


Post a Comment

