Chickens

ChickensPOW

I do wish that Chickens (Thursdays on Sky 1) was funny.
It has a reasonably original premise – treating WW1 non-combatants as a source of comedy. Possibly this has some appeal to the young audience who have been force-fed pieties about the War at school, and it is definitely an improvement on the glum reverence with which the saintly C.O. schoolteacher in The Village was treated.
The programme’s trick is to put twenty-first slacker characters into England a century ago, which leads to all sorts of anachronisms of language and attitude. Unfortunately this is done with little in the way of wit, and with a great deal of obviousness. The jokes lumber  predictably, and the characters’ predictability becomes grating.
Or is it just that I’m far too ancient to be part of the target audience for the show?
I’ll watch next week’s episode, I think, since Barry Humphries is supposed to be turning up in the series at some time. Just possibly he’ll liven things up. And just possibly the programme  will improve.

2 Comments

  1. Roger
    Posted August 23, 2013 at 2:14 am | Permalink

    Doesn’t sound good though:

    Humphries said he based his character on experience. “I knew what sort of headmaster he would be,” he said. “I was taught in my prep school in Melbourne by old, retired, semi-intoxicated, ignorant schoolmasters. I based my character entirely on them.”

    from http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2013/aug/21/former-inbetweeners-chickens-premiere
    More contemporary stereotypes, by the sound of it.

  2. Posted August 23, 2013 at 7:25 am | Permalink

    Oh dear. I don’t have Sky so I haven’t seen it. I think the pilot was with Channel 4, but they decided not to commission a series – perhaps they were right.


Post a Comment

