Conferences

There are several conferences coming up. Here are two that I might have got to if I still lived near London:

Next week at the British Library there is the second half of a conference (the first half was in Antwerp) on Languages and the First World War. The conference blog has some intriguing items, and is well worth a look.

Teaching War and Remembrance is at the Senate House, London on July 15th.

One that I shall definitely be attending is the Culture Wars conference at Sheffield Hallam this Saturday (June 14th), as I am delivering a paper on Dorothy L. Sayers, Q. D. Leavis and Ludwig Wittgenstein (with only the tiniest mention of the First World War) .

In September I shall be at Oxford for the British Poetry of the First World War conference.

In November there is another Marginalised Mainstream conference in London. I have enjoyed these conferences before – always very varied, and you meet interesting people. The theme this year is disguise, and I’m thinking of offering a paper on the writer Evadne Price, who disguised herself as Helen Zenna Smith and wrote the powerful war novel, Not So Quiet… I’ve got a week or so to make up my mind.

Any more conference news? Please leave a comment.

One Comment

  1. Posted June 13, 2014 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia is hosting a conference on the Legacy of World War I on Nov 14-15, 2014. Keynote speakers: Jay Winter (Yale) and Laura Lee Downs (European Historical Centre) – – 60 additional papers accepted. Website being updated and should be operational byJune 27,2014. Contact: W. Walker (walker@chc.edu)


Post a Comment

