Some new websites

Today is Sarajevo day, and therefore as good as any (and better than most) for mentioning A Century Back a new blog that intends day by day to record what happened exactly a century ago. So today, obviously, the author writes about the assassination, and quotes Stefan Zweig’s memory of a sudden silence:

And so it was that I suddenly stopped reading when the music broke off abruptly. I did not know what piece the band was playing. I noticed only that the music had broken off… Something must have happened. I got up and saw that the musicians had left their pavilion… I noticed that the people had crowded excitedly around the bandstand because of an announcement which had evidently just been put up. It was, as I soon learned, the text of a telegram announcing that His Imperial Majesty, the successor to the crown, Franz Ferdinand…

So far. so factual, but Josh the author tells me:

I have sneaky plans, later on, to complicate our notions of storytelling and history by also introducing fictional characters (as long as their authors’ actual war experience vouches for their “realism”) into the rolling timeline–what Peter Jackson, Cigar Merchant was doing on this day, that sort of thing.

This is definitely a blog that I shall follow.
Another new blog is Michael Bully’s Great War at Sea Poetry Project . Mr Bully feels that soldier poets have been privileged in the canon at the expense of sailors. He is therefore looking for sailor poets. I don’t think he’s found many yet, but it’s the sort of search that can uncover unexpected goodies.
In a much more orthodox vein, the English Association has created a rather impressive site called Discover War Poets. A good range of poets is on display, with examples of their work and snippets of commentary of the sort likely to be useful for students wanting help with their homework.

One Comment

  1. Yashi
    Posted July 20, 2014 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    I was wondering if you could suggest any online material that focuses on poetry written in countries other than the major ones – such as japan, middle east, etc.


Post a Comment

