This Week’s Conferences

On Thursday I shall be on the train to London,  before the Marginalised Mainstream conference on Friday and Saturday (where I shall be speaking about ‘Helen Zenna Smith, and the Disguises of Evadne Price’).

If I had not been heading Londonwards, I’d have been very interested in this conference in Cambridge. It’s a subject I’d like to know more about:

classics

Click the poster for a larger version, which tells you where to email for details. The conference does not seem to have a website, but the programme is at https://www.ucl.ac.uk/classics/research/research-projects/Imperialisms-Cambridge.pdf

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 29, 2014 at 11:19 pm | Permalink

    Very nice to see you at the conference, George!

    That AAM play I mentioned (The Boy Comes Home) is actually available through Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/files/7805/7805-h/7805-h.htm

    See you at the next one!

  2. Posted November 30, 2014 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    Dear Simon,
    For many years I have known for a definite fact (having read it somewhere, possibly, or maybe just imagined it) that A.A.Milne abstained from writing about the Great War while it was still in progress.
    Like so many absolutely certain facts, this one has crumbled under examination. I look forward with pleasure to reading this play.
    It was good to see you at the conference. Your paper on Milne has certainly made me want to read more of him.

    George


Post a Comment

