Armine Wodehouse in the Times of India

I’ve written here before about the war poetry of Armine Wodehouse (Pelham Grenville’s brother), and I’ve written more, by the way, in a contribution to the forthcoming collection of critical essays, Middlebrow Wodehouse.
I knew that after the War Armine W. returned to India,and I knew that he contributed light verse to Punch. What I hadn’t known before today was that in the twenties and early thirties he regularly contributed very accomplished light verse to the Times of India, under the pseudonym of ‘Senex’.
I’ve spent much of the morning (when I should have been doing something else) enjoying his poems.
I know that some of this blog’s readers enjoy, as I do, poems about Libraries. Here is ‘Senex’, in 1929, describing a hill-station library that has stayed unchanged for thirty years:
arminew status quo

One Comment

  1. Posted June 15, 2015 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    What a juicy post. Thanks for ferreting it out and sharing with all of us.


Post a Comment

